Contact us 24/7 206-659-6839

The DLG Blog

I WAS ARRESTED FOR SHOPLIFTING – NOW WHAT?

Posted by Michelle Dellino | Mar 28, 2017 | 0 Comments

Sign that says Warning! Shoplifters will be prosecuted

Think before you consider shoplifting! Even small items can add up to big problems. Merchants of all kinds throughout Washington State put significant funding into loss prevention and do not hesitate to encourage prosecution of even the smallest offenses.

If you have been charged with a theft offense, we recommend the following key steps:

  1. Understand the charges
  2. Understand the penalties
  3. Involve experienced legal counsel

Understand the charges:

It is essential to understand the law and the consequences. What may seem like a minor offense could have a very detrimental outcome.

Theft in Washington State is separated into three different categories. The degree is determined by the value of stolen item.

Third-degree theft (RCW §9A.56.050) may be charged if the property or services stolen:

  • Do not exceed $750 in value, or
  • Include 10 or more merchandise pallets, or 10 or more beverage crates, or a combination of 10 or more merchandise pallets and crates

Second-degree theft (RCW §9A.56.040) may be charged if the property or services stolen:

  • Exceeds $750 in value but does not exceed $5,000 in value (other than a firearm or motor vehicle)
  • Includes a public record, writing, or instrument kept, filed, or deposited according to law with or in the keeping of any public office or public servant
  • Includes commercial metal property, nonferrous metal property, or private metal property, and the costs of the damage to the property fall between $750-$5,000 in value
  • Includes an access device

First-degree theft (RCW §9A.56.030) may be charged if the property or services stolen:

  • Exceeds$5,000 in value (other than a firearm)
  • Includes property of any value (other than a firearm or motor vehicle) taken from another person
  • Includes a search and rescue dog while the dog is on duty
  • Includes commercial metal property, nonferrous metal property, or private metal property, and the costs of the damage to the property exceed $5,000 in value.

Understand the penalties:

Theft in the third degree

  • considered a gross misdemeanor
  • punishable by up to one year in jail, a maximum fine of $5,000, or both

Theft in the second degree

  • considered a class C felony
  • punishable by up to five years in prison, a maximum fine of $10,000, or both

Theft in the first degree

  • considered a class B felony
  • punishable by up to 10 years in prison, a maximum fine of $20,000, or both

Involve experienced legal counsel:

If you or someone you care about has been charged with a criminal offense involving theft or shoplifting, contact a skilled criminal defense attorney as soon as possible.  The earlier you act the more options you may have!

Our criminal defense attorneys are skilled and available to help protect your criminal record and to reach the best possible outcome. Before you pay any penalties or admit to any fault, it is essential that you consult a knowledgeable attorney. Please contact us today for a Free Consultation.

About the Author

Michelle Dellino

Managing Attorney

Comments

There are no comments for this post. Be the first and Add your Comment below.

Leave a Comment

This is the Next Step in your life

You have done the research, you are tired of waiting, and you are ready to move forward with this process. The next step is to meet with our experienced attorneys to learn your rights and options for moving forward with your life. We offer the best comprehensive and personalized divorce, family law, and criminal defense representation in the greater Seattle Area. Click the ‘Call Us’ button below, or complete our 'Contact' form, and put the process safely in your attorney’s hands today. We're ready to help. Contact Dellino Law Group today! Call or Text

CLIENT PAYMENTS

Pay_Your_Invoice

Menu